proper heading for an essay writing services in less than 8 hours writing college application essays essay on public service njit admission essay homework helper woodward park argumentative essay genetically modified food write college essays for money e marketing master thesis Nordic Food Diplomacy main page

The Nordic Kitchen
Manifesto for the New Nordic Cuisine
The Nordic Kitchen > Manifesto for the New Nordic Cuisine

Manifesto for the New Nordic Cuisine

As Nordic chefs we find that the time has now come for us to create a New Nordic Cuisine, which in virtue of its good taste and special character compares favourable with the standard of the greatest kitchens of the world.

The aims of New Nordic Cuisine are:

1. To express the purity, freshness, simplicity and ethics we wish to associate with our region.

2. To reflect the changing of the seasons in the meals we make.

3. To base our cooking on ingredients and produce whose characteristics are particularly excellent in our climates, landscapes and waters.

4. To combine the demand for good taste with modern knowledge of health and well-being.

5. To promote Nordic products and the variety of Nordic producers – and to spread the word about their underlying cultures.

6. To promote animal welfare and a sound production process in our seas, on our farmland and in the wild.

7. To develop potentially new applications of traditional Nordic food products.

8. To combine the best in Nordic cookery and culinary traditions with impulses from abroad.

9. To combine local self-sufficiency with regional sharing of high-quality products.

10. To join forces with consumer representatives, other cooking craftsmen, agriculture, the fishing, food , retail and wholesale industries, researchers, teachers, politicians and authorities on this project for the benefit and advantage of everyone in the Nordic countries.


Chefs who created the Manifesto

Hans Välimäki, Finland

Leif Sørensen, The Faroe Islands

Mathias Dahlgren, Sweden

Roger Malmin, Norway

René Redzepi, Denmark

Rune Collin, Greenland

Erwin Lauterbach, Denmark

Eyvind Hellstrøm, Norway

Fredrik Sigurdsson, Iceland

Gunndur Fossdal, The Faroe Islands

Hákan Örvarsson, Iceland

Michael Björklund, Aaland